NYX Micro Brow Pencil | Review

September 4, 2017 in beauty

HAYLEYXMARTIN - NYX REVIEW MICRO BROW PENCIL

When it comes to makeup, I am by no means a professional or a makeup artist. But I feel I am pretty happy with the looks I can create and applying the products to best suit my face. The only part of doing my makeup that I struggle with a little, is doing my eyebrows! Some people have gorgeous eyebrows that barely need filling or shaping at all. I don’t hate the shape of mine but they are definitely uneven. For years I never really knew what to do with them. They aren’t perfect but I have improved my technique.

I have used a Rimmel eyebrow pencil for ages, but it is slightly the wrong shade. The tone is a bit too brown for me and it is difficult to achieve the gradient effect. When searching YouTube for good high street eyebrow product reviews, the one I kept seeing being mentioned was the NYX Micro Brow Pencil. My local Boots has recently started stocking NYX, so I went in to have a look at the colours in person. I chose the colour taupe and it is the perfect shade for me to create a really natural brow effect. I could probably go for a darker brown but I feel this will look really harsh.

NYX Micro Brow Pencil Review & My Current Eyebrow Routine

The NYX Micro Brow Pencil is really easy to apply. It is a creamy pencil, which means you get good colour payoff in one swatch. I love that the pencil is double ended with a spoolie on the other end. The product looks really nice and blended once you have brushed through. This is a product I can apply and not have to worry about all day.

HAYLEYXMARTIN - NYX MICRO BROW PENCIL REVIEW

My Current Eyebrow Routine

I begin by applying the NYX Micro Brow Pencil to the inner portion of my eyebrow and use it to outline the shape of my brows. Using the lighter colour to do this, creates a really nice shape. Without creating a look that is too heavy and sharp. I then use my darker Rimmel eyebrow pencil, in the colour Hazel, to focus on the outer part of my eyebrow. To finish my eyebrow I take a small angled brush and outline them with foundation. Using a sponge to then blend this out. Finally, I use a highlighter to lift the arches of my brows.

This is how I achieve natural, full looking brows. Everyone does their brows differently, after all we do have completely different face shapes. This is what works best for me, at the moment. If you struggle with your eyebrows, it is good to try a couple of different products and practice your technique. Watch tutorials on YouTube and try and find someone who has similar eyebrow shape/colour. I really want to try the Anastasia Beverly Hills pencil/pomade, but I don’t want to get the colour wrong and waste a load of money. Whenever I am looking for tutorials or reviews, this seems to be alot of people’s eyebrow holy grail.

HAYLEYXMARTIN - NYX MICRO BROW PENCIL REVIEW

 

Do you have any tips for creating a good eyebrow routine?

Have you tried the Anastasia Beverly Hills eyebrow products?

 

Read more reviews:

NYX Epic Ink Liner

Tarte Amazonian Clay 12hr Blush & Tarteist Creamy Matte Lip Paint

GLAMGLOW Masks 

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water

Anastasia Beverly Hills – Glow Kit – Gleam

 

13 Comments

  • Avatar
    Courtney Hardy September 4, 2017 at 9:37 pm

    That brow pencil sounds really good. And I like the packaging of it.
    http://sugarcoatedbears.blogspot.com/

    • hayleyxmartin
      hayleyxmartin September 5, 2017 at 9:53 am

      NYX products are so sleek! xx

  • Avatar
    Dawn September 4, 2017 at 10:19 pm

    Hi Hayley, I use both of the NYX Micro Pencil and the Anastacia Dipbrow Pomade. I like them both, but when I don’t have a lot of time, I use the Pencil. I draw it on sparingly and use the spooly to brush it along evenly. Then I use a smaller brush and dip it in concealer instead of foundation, I find this works better. I run the small brush underneath and upper of my brow and smooth it out. Then I lightly set them with loose powder. It works for me 😊

    • hayleyxmartin
      hayleyxmartin September 5, 2017 at 9:57 am

      Thanks for the tips Dawn!!! I alternate between using foundation and concealer to sharpen my brows. The reason being some of my concealers I have at the moment are super light. xxx

  • Avatar
    Hannah September 4, 2017 at 10:27 pm

    I heard that the NYX Micro brow is a great dupe for the ABH brow wiz! I’ve tried their Brow Express kit (my husband got it for me for my birthday), but I don’t use the stencils for my brows. I’ve been using the Benefit Precisely, My Brow pencil and the Gimme Brow to fill it in!

    Hannah
    Floraful

    • hayleyxmartin
      hayleyxmartin September 5, 2017 at 10:00 am

      Yeah that’s why I decided to give it a go! I have also heard lots of good things about the Benefit products. I just get so stuck when it comes to choosing colours for my eye brows! xx

  • Avatar
    Jennifer @ Mrs Q Beauty September 5, 2017 at 3:18 pm

    I prefer a pencil over powder brow products. I would like to try the NYX one. I’m currently using a Maybelline Brow Precise pencil. http://www.mrsqbeauty.com

    • hayleyxmartin
      hayleyxmartin September 5, 2017 at 5:28 pm

      I have never tried a specific powder brow product, I have tried eyeshadow though haha!! xx

  • Avatar
    North September 5, 2017 at 6:51 pm

    Ooh this is really useful! I’ve been looking for a new brow pencil, and I like the micro ones because I tend to fill in little hair strokes where my brows are a bit sparse. I’ll definitely try this one out.
    The best one I’ve found for blonde brows (like mine) is the MAC brow pencil in the colour fling.
    x

    • hayleyxmartin
      hayleyxmartin September 5, 2017 at 7:30 pm

      I’m glad it was useful! Yes the micro pencils do create a really nice natural look, hard to go wrong really! xx

  • Avatar
    Ashlynn September 7, 2017 at 1:55 am

    I really love NYX’s brow products! They are my holy grail for sure, and their affordability makes it even better. I’ve used the Brow Wiz, but I feel like the Micro Brow is better.

    Ashlynn | http://thecrimsoncardigan.com

    • hayleyxmartin
      hayleyxmartin September 7, 2017 at 6:27 pm

      Oh wow interesting to hear that micro brow is better!! No point in spending money on high-end if a drugstore product is just as good – Love it!! xx

  • Avatar
    Velvet Blush September 7, 2017 at 5:57 pm

    I keep hearing good things about this eyebrow pencil and it does sound so good! I don’t normally fill mine in but I guess it would be good for emergencies x

    Velvet Blush

  • Leave a Reply

    ABOUT

    ABOUT

    Hayley | South East, United Kingdom Beauty, Lifestyle & Travel Blogger Business Management Graduate & Small Business Owner🌺🌍

    BLOGGER RESOURCES - HAYLEYXMARTIN

    NEVER MISS A POST

    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Latest Posts

    Archives

    Follow

    DISCLOSURE

    Affiliate links or codes may be used on this website. If you click and/or purchase through these links, I will receive a small amount of commission. If affiliate links are present within a post, there will be a statement within the post itself. All opinions are 100% my own.

    ×